Links

This  page has been copied from the Great War at Sea Poetry Project ‘weebly’ site: I am currently in the process of contacting each of the websites and checking that they wish to be listed here.

History

Boys on the Plaque project, tracing the lives of those honoured on the war memorial at the Fabrica Gallery (de-consecrated church) in the centre of Brighton https://boysontheplaque.wordpress.com/

Centenary News (Great War Commemoration)      http://www.centenarynews.com/

Chattri Memorial Group , Brighton , Monument to the Indian Soldiers who died whilst being treated in Brighton during the Great War
http://chattri.org/

Commonwealth War Graves Commission http://www.cwgc.org/

Discover War Poets- World War 1 war poetry website run by the English Association  http://warpoets.org.uk/

East Sussex and World War 1 website http://www.eastsussexww1.org.uk/

First World War Digital Poetry Archive (maintained by Oxford University) http://www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/

First World War Centenary site- the ultimate centenary events listing /information resource   http://www.1914.org/

Friends of Shoreham Fort-inspiring project to conserve 1857 West Sussex fort  http://www.shorehamfort.co.uk/

Forgotten Wrecks of the First World War http://www.forgottenwrecks.org/

Gallipoli Association http://www.gallipoli-association.org/

Gallipoli 100 education http://gallipoli100education.org.uk/about-gallipoli-2/gallipoli-plays-poems-and-songs/poetry-of-gallipoli/

Great War Forum http://1914-1918.invisionzone.com

Website….recommended by a reader!   Important People of World War 2

Battle of Jutland commemoration website http://www.jutland1916.com/

Battle of Jutland commemoration blog http://www.jutland1916.com/blog/latest-news/

Live Bait Squadron – commemorating all those who died when the U9 torpedoed and sank Aboukir, Hogue and Cressy on 22nd September 1914        http://www.livebaitsqn-soc.info/

Orkney Heritage Society page on Kitchener Memorial Campaign http://www.orkneycommunities.co.uk/OHS/index.asp?pageid=4367

Royal National Maritime Museum- Greenwich  http://www.rmg.co.uk/national-maritime-museum

Royal Navy Museum -Portsmouth http://www.royalnavalmuseum.org/

South East History Board  ( Kent, Sussex, Surrey, Hants, & Isle of Wight )   http://sussexhistoryforum.co.uk/

Sussex and the Great War Blog https://sussexthegreatwar.wordpress.com/

Western Front Association http://westernfrontassociation.com/

World Naval Ships Forum http://www.worldnavalships.com/

World War 1 Bridges  ( English Language -massive Great War resource site based in Italy)   http://www.worldwarone.it/

Zeebrugge Raid 23rd April 1918  -recommended site  http://www.mckenzie.uk.com/

Literary Blogs and Societies

Alliance of Literary Societies ( The Great War at Sea Poetry Project is an affiliated member)  – http://www.allianceofliterarysocieties.org.uk/

Cicely Fox Smith http://www.cicelyfoxsmith.org.uk/

Dymock Poets Society ( Lascelles Abercrombie, Rupert Brooke, John Drinkwater, Robert Frost, Wilfrid Gibson, Edward Thomas)
http://www.dymockpoets.org.uk/

Echenberg War Poetry Collection  http://war-poetry.com/index.html    Most impressive listing of all war poetry books and more.

Edmund Blunden website maintained by his family http://www.edmundblunden.org/index.php?pageid=92

Edward Thomas Fellowship  http://www.edward-thomas-fellowship.org.uk/

Highly recommended Edward Thomas blog http://edwardthomaspoetry.wordpress.com/

Female War Poets Blog ( World War 1)  http://femalewarpoets.blogspot.co.uk

Forces Poetry http://www.forcespoetry.com/
related forum to the above- not necessary to be in the Forces/ex-Forces to join http://www.flowsforum.com/default.asp

Forgotten Poets of the Great War http://forgottenpoetsofww1.blogspot.co.uk/

Forgotten Wrecks of the First World War website has a webpage titled ‘Great War Maritime Poetry ‘ http://www.forgottenwrecks.org/index.php/war-at-sea/great-war-maritime-poetry

Great War Fiction Blog  http://greatwarfiction.wordpress.com/

Isaac Rosenberg Statue Appeal  (run by the Jewish East End Celebration Society)
http://www.jeecs.org.uk/rosenberg.html
And a new website about the Rosenberg Statue Appeal here
http://rosenbergww1.weebly.com/

Robert Graves Society http://www.robertgraves.org/

Siegfried Sassoon Fellowship http://www.sassoonfellowship.org/
and the SSF have a blog    http://sassoonfellowship.blogspot.co.uk/

The War  Poetry Website – incredible website,huge range of many different aspects of War Poetry. http://www.warpoetry.co.uk/

War Poets Blog run by Professor Tim Kendall  http://war-poets.blogspot.co.uk/

War Poets Association    http://www.warpoets.org/

Wilfred Owen Association      http://Wilfredowen.org.uk

Wilfrid Gibson page maintained by his granddaughter Judy Greenway http://www.judygreenway.org.uk/wp/wilfrid-gibson-poetry-family-history/

Other links relating to The Sea

5 men 104 years  website campaigning on behalf of five men wrongly convicted for cocaine smuggling in The Solent , 2011 . The men’s cases have been taken up by The Mail on Sunday  and Private Eye .http://www.5men104years.com/

Gentlemen and Tarpaulins – J D Davies fiction and non-fiction ( mainly 17th century naval history) http://gentlemenandtarpaulins.com/

Kindle version of Peter Shankland’s 1975 biography ‘Beware of Heroes- Admiral Sir Sidney Smith’s War against Napoleon’ is now available on Amazon
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beware-Heroes-Admiral-against-Napoleon-ebook/dp/B014HJ34X4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1440771524&sr=8-1&keywords=beware+of+heroes

Seafarers UK- Charity performing some excellent work supporting Britain’s Maritime Community   http://www.seafarers-uk.org/

Finally

Endeavour Press  – premier digital publishing site, making many neglected historical works accessible http://endeavourpress.com/